Trump Travel Ban Expands to Include 6 New Countries

The Trump administration announced on Friday that its controversial travel ban will expand to include six new countries.

Getty Images

The Trump administration announced on Friday that its travel ban, once known as a “Muslim ban,” will expand to include six new countries. 
New visa restrictions will be placed on Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar (known as Burma), Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania.

“We’re adding a couple of countries,” Trump warned last week at the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland. “We have to be safe. Our country has to be safe. You see what’s going on in the world. Our country has to be safe.” 

President Trump’s travel ban, which he signed into law shortly after taking office, sparked backlash for its discriminatory guidelines targeting counties with majority-Muslim populations. The ban was challenged in court, and a third iteration of it was eventually brought to Supreme Court justices, a majority of whom upheld it. In its current form, the ban restricts Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Yemen, Venezuela, and North Korea from entry into the U.S. to varying degrees.

The administration initially planned to announce expansions to the ban on Monday, which was the anniversary of the original executive order. However, the announcement was postponed so the White house could mobilize against the coronavirus outbreak. Trump is expected to defend the expansion of the discriminatory ban at his State of the Union Address on February 4.