These States Plan to Follow Alabama's Anti-Abortion Bill

Reproductive rights are under attack in states all over the U.S.

Louisiana, South Carolina, Missouri, and Michigan are in the process of advancing laws that will restrict abortion access.

On May 14, 2019, the Alabama state Senate passed what is considered to be the nation’s most restrictive abortion bill. It was signed into law by Governor Kay Ivey the next day. It bans the procedure in nearly every instance, even in cases of rape and incest. It punishes doctors who perform abortions, making it a felony punishable by up to 99 years in prison.

On May 15, 2019, the Louisiana House Health and Welfare Committee back a ban on abortion after the sixth week of pregnancy. It will move on to a House vote. It passed, it will head to Governor John Bel Edwards’ desk. He has indicated that if the bill gets to him, he will sign it. The bill would only go into effect if a federal appeals court upholds a similar bill already passed in Mississippi.

In South Carolina, a comparable bill passed the House on April 25 and is under consideration in the state Senate.

On May 16, the Missouri state Senate passed a bill that would ban abortion after eight weeks, with no exception for rape of incest. The bill also requires dual parental notification for minors.

Such attempts to restrict access to reproductive health care are part of a nationwide effort to push the Supreme Court to overturn Roe v. Wade.